First of all being diagnosed with celiac disease or NCGS (Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity) isn’t the end of the world. Although it may feel like it at the time. There is a whole world of naturally gluten-free foods out there for you to enjoy. That are not only delicious, but are healthful too.

Today, I’m giving you a list of foods to avoid and foods that are allowed. This is by no means an all inclusive list, but it’s somewhere for you to start.

Foods to Avoid

Let’s tackle the “No-No” part of this list first. Here are the foods which contain gluten that you need to avoid.

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Malt, Malt Vinegar and Malt Flavoring
  • Rye
  • Triticale, which is a cross between rye and wheat
  • Durum flour
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Semolina
  • Spelt

Avoid the following items unless they definitely say gluten-free on the label. They don’t necessarily contain gluten, but they might.

  • Bread
  • Candy, cakes and pies
  • Cereals
  • Beer
  • Cookies, crackers and croutons
  • French fries
  • Gravy
  • Imitation seafood, imitation meat
  • Pasta
  • Processed lunch meats
  • Salad dressings, sauces
  • Seasoned rice mix
  • Snack foods, such as potato chips
  • Soups and some soup bases
  • Canned vegetables and sauce

Hot dogs, frozen vegetables and sauce, hot chocolate, pickles, blue cheese, french fries and even some items labeled wheat-free might actually contain gluten. Remember, wheat variations such as rye, barley and spelt can contain gluten. Oats can become cross-contaminated with gluten in the growing, harvesting and processing stages of production. So just because a package of food says it doesn’t have any wheat, does not guarantee gluten is not there.

What You Can Eat

Fresh fruits and vegetables are fair game. So are fresh, wild-caught or pasture-raised fish, meat and poultry. Most dairy products are eligible for consumption, just make sure you check the ingredients first. Beans, nuts and seeds in their natural form, without additives or seasoning, are also good to go. Fresh eggs are allowed as well.

All of those foods are allowed on a gluten-free diet, as long as they are not batter-coated, marinated, breaded or contain gluten in the form of preservatives and additives. The following foods are also allowed.

  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn and cornmeal
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free flours, such as rice, soy and corn
  • Hominy
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Teff

You can find a list I created earlier in my blogging life here: What can I eat?

Let me know in the comments if any of this was helpful for you. Or if you would like to talk to me about helping you, just contact me here: Contact Mary